Book Review ~ The Barber Who Wanted to Pray by R.C. Sproul

Photobucket

The Barber Who Wanted to Pray
Author: R.C. Sproul
Hardback; 32 pages
ISBN: 978-1-4335-2703-6
Retail: $17.99

I had the opportunity to review The Barber Who Wanted to Pray by R.C. Sproul – what a GREAT book for discussing prayer with the littles (and even other adults)! It has interesting illustrations and is such a wonderful story about Martin Luther’s book A Simple Way to Pray! It puts prayer into a simple AND UNDERSTANDABLE way; it talks about HOW to pray…”allow your mind and your heart to give careful attention to what these words say, and let them move you to deeper prayer.” (from page 25 of the book) It mentions the three things necessary for really good prayer…knowledge of (1) the Ten Commandments, (2) The Lord’s Prayer and (3) The Apostles’ Creed…which are all three provided in the back of the book.

I personally had heard of “The Apostles’ Creed” but really had no idea what it was. Here it is:

I believe in God the Father Almighty,
Maker of heaven and earth.

And in Jesus Christ his only Son our Lord;
who was conceived by the Holy Ghost,
born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, dead, and buried;
he descended into hell;
the third day he rose again from the dead;
he ascended into heaven, and sitteth on the right hand of God the Father Almighty;
from thence he shall come to judge the quick and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Ghost;
the holy catholic Church;
the communion of saints;
the forgiveness of sins;
the resurrection of the body;
and the life everlasting.

AMEN.

So, I personally have a couple of issues with “The Apostles’ Creed” – therefore I am not sure about my recommendation of this book. I love everything, except that. So, buyer beware…and make your own judgement on whether this book is a good fit for your family, or not.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Crossway book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Tagged:

One thought on “Book Review ~ The Barber Who Wanted to Pray by R.C. Sproul

  1. katie at brighton park October 1, 2011 at 8:10 pm Reply

    Love book reviews. and how wonderful to do them, right? my husband always laughs and says that should be my “dream job”. stopping by from HSM journal, thanks for visiting my blog!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

