Study of the Composers ~ 9/15/11

a teaching heart

Welcome to our third week of “Study of the Composers”! A few of us girls wanted to be held accountable for studying composers with our kids so what better way than to start a weekly meme!?!?!?  🙂 Wanna join in? Come on – it’ll be fun! It doesn’t have to be some big post…even something lil is perfect…let’s just stay on track! This meme may move hosting locations, we aren’t sure yet, but for this week Julie over at A Teaching Heart is our wonderful host. Thanks Julie!

For my son and I, we are starting a review of “A Young Scholar’s Guide to Composers” for Timberdoodle and thought it would be fun to participate and keep on track. My intention is not only to review this product, but to use it as a piece of our curriculum for this year. I’ve read how good it is for kids to study things like this, but it is definitely NOT “my cup of tea” – so this meme should help keep us on track. *wink*

This week we looked at Antonio Vivaldi and George Frederic Handel. I would like to repeat that I am REALLY enjoying this study – and putting actual listening of items to what we are studying. I was public schooled, and we didn’t do that. And I was not raised in a family that did anything other than what was before us so I was not introduced to anything like these kinds of music…VERY neat to do!

Here are some of Vivaldi’s works we listened to: Concerto in g-minor and Concerto No. 31. When asked what the neatest thing he learned was, ds15 said, “Probably that he created the mandolin music (as that is what Uncle Marc plays).”

Here is information about The Messiah by Handel: the words, the music (broken down by part). When asked what the neatest thing he learned was, ds15 said, “That King George stood up during his presentation of The Messiah, and now everyone always stands up.”

Are you studying composers? If so, leave a comment – or better yet, if you blog – join in the weekly meme fun!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

2 thoughts on “Study of the Composers ~ 9/15/11

  1. Julie Coney September 15, 2011 at 2:04 pm Reply

    wow I never knew that about King George and The Messiah. very cool

    Like

  2. Kym September 15, 2011 at 10:19 pm Reply

    I’m just putting together my post for this meme now. 😉 We’re also doing Young Scholars, and did Renaissance Music this week. I’m looking forward to Handel – he’s one of my favorites!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

