Remembering…

Photobucket

I think we are all stopping to remember that dreadful day ten years ago. (Can you believe it’s been TEN YEARS? I cannot…I really truly cannot.)

– The day that we were brought down to our knees.

– The day we realized we were NOT invincible.

I’m sure each of us can remember exactly where we were and what we were doing – funny how that works, isn’t it? Any other day ten years ago and I’d have NO CLUE.

I was at work at Reliable Automotive. I was a single mother of an almost 5-year-old boy (his birthday is the 12th). I totally did NOT get what was happening. I did NOT see that we were being attacked. At first I was like, “What – so it was an accident – someone accidentally flew their little two person plane into one of the towers. Poor person is all over the news.” Little did I know…

…but I soon was watching it on tv with everyone else. WOW!

– Watch us all crumble right along with the Twin Towers.

The devastation, the heartache…the heroes and those who escaped alive. So many emotions and thoughts and feelings – all at one time. (Adding the fact that my father had just died in an auto accident only a couple months prior and I was really a mess!).

First, I want to thank ALL the fire fighters, police officers, first response teams, and all the other folks who are there to help us in extreme moments. I cannot express my gratitude enough, really. Second, I cannot help but think “Why?” And I do believe it was the Lord’s way to try and get us to turn back to Him. And it worked…

…for a little while.

However, I look around today, ten years later, and I see we are pretty much the same as we were before 9/11 – I mean as a society in general. Our first love of MONEY has returned, unfortunately. I was also thinking that THIS, to me, is when we took a down turn…I don’t think we have recovered since…and I believe we have not seen the end of the downward spiral.

My prayer today is to remember…

…to remember those who lost their lives, and those who were left behind.

…to remember that we are NOT invincible.

to remember that HE is to be our primary focus.

…to remember to hug my family, because we never know when that last moment will be.

~ ~ MAY WE NEVER FORGET. ~ ~

2 thoughts on “Remembering…

  1. Lisa September 11, 2011 at 2:41 pm Reply

    I was in my living room, 6 months pregnant with our 3rd child, playing with our 2 year old. I had just come back from dropping off our 3 year old for his first morning at the church “preschool” down the street. The phone rang and my dad told me that I should turn on the tv. Like everyone else, I became glued for days. I did see the towers fall live and those images will remain with me the rest of my life.

    All of our lives permamently changed that day. With a husband in the military, I knew that our lives, too, would change in ways that I had never imagined. It wasn’t immediate, but my husband was indeed deployed to the Middle East and was there when our 4th child was born.

    In many ways, it seems like yesterday, but when I look at my then-three year old child, who just turned 13 and now stands almost 6 feet tall, I feel like it is a lifetime ago. The son I was pregnant with will be turning 10 in December. I cannot imagine that his entire life has taken place since. Unbelievable.

    Thanks for the reminder and for the prayers. It saddens me that the flags are no longer out, the churches are no longer full and the love of all things material has returned with a vengeance. We just have to pray even harder, I guess.

    Many blessings!

    Like

  2. Heidi September 23, 2011 at 3:49 pm Reply

    It is amazing to me how we have come to chronicle our lives as before and/or after 9/11. It was truly a day that change the course of history.

    I am new to the NOBH crew. Stopping in to say hello and to thank you for linking up with NOBH!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

