Looks Can Be Deceiving

I’ve been thinking quite a bit about this subject, which for me ties in with a post from the other day His Word Friday, and it’s about judging and what others see verses what the Lord sees.

A quote from a movie I saw a long time ago goes something like this, “You are on the outside what you put on the inside.” In this movie, the lady saying this was talking about food as she was a model and never ate anything therefore felt she wasn’t really anything on the inside unlike the lady she was speaking with / to was eating and enjoying chocolate cake and was a little on the heavier side and not “model beautiful” but the lady speaking felt she was the sweetest thing and was comparing it with the chocolate cake she was eating. [I have no idea if I explained that in an understandable way, or not.  I hope I did!] Anyway, this then led me to the Bible and what the Lord says about these things:

But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at his physical stature, because I have refused him. For the LORD does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7

All too often I believe we look at only what we can see and judge based off that…but how often do YOU put everything about something out so that everyone can see it? Not very often, I’m sure.  I’m a VERY open person – I will honestly answer ANY question I am asked – but that doesn’t mean I am going to expose all of myself to everyone at every moment.

As I’ve shared before, I was not raised in a Christian home and I am learning a lot of new ways to do things but I have changed SO MUCH over the years that often I feel judged by some of those who are the closest to me based off of who I USED to be, and it hurts.  However, I simply say things like the above verse and pray that the Lord will heal the hurt and most importantly NOT ALLOW ME TO JUDGE THEM.  For some reason, I feel then that I need to judge them back – where I don’t feel that with others. Isn’t that weird? The devil at work, I’m sure. And I REFUSE to play that game.

Photobucket

The above scripture picture is from Bran Made Tags, I add a lot of hers to my posts but I just LOVE them…hop over and check more out if you’d like.

My ultimate goal in life, not that I do it well yet, is to live as Christ lived…to show His amazingly wonderful qualities in all I do.  MAN IS THAT HARD! but I’m trying, with His help.

Thanks for listening and sharing this moment with me.  My prayer for you today is that you don’t judge others, and you forgive those who are judging you.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Looks Can Be Deceiving

  1. Daily Journey August 21, 2011 at 3:21 pm Reply

    Dawn a great write on forgiveness and judging. I think I have felt the way you have many times. I am mostly an open boo as you, but dont share something with others for juding isnt what I want. I share because you love me and accept me where I am and that has made me who I am. Love me for that. Thank you for your wonderful insight. Blessings my dear sister in Christ!

    Like

  2. Lisa August 21, 2011 at 5:49 pm Reply

    Dawn,

    What a beautiful post! Thank you for the reminder and inspiration that the Lord doesn’t see as we see and aren’t we glad He doesn’t! 🙂

    It is so difficult to live the way He calls us to live. We receive ridicule, sometimes from members of our own families. I have been called a fanatic at times. I just remember that He said that blessed are those who are criticized because of Him.

    It is also such a challenge not to judge a person’s soul/heart. I believe we can judge a person’s actions (i.e. like to say that what Hitler did was wrong or what the terrorists do is wrong), but we must not judge their souls. That is for the Lord to do. I think we are called to admonish sinners, but not to judge them and there is such a fine line there, that I ask for the Lord’s help with that all the time! I try to teach my children to love the sinner, but hate the sin. But, as you said, it is so difficult!!!! May God grant us all the grace we need to follow His Will!

    Many blessings to you!!!
    Lisa
    http://our4kiddos.blogspot.com
    P.S. I am so glad I am a follower of your blog and that I got to read this today. It is really what I needed! Thank you! :-)))

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

