The Beauty of Marriage

This post was written for The Christian Home- Issue 7 – an online Christian magazine. Stop by and read all the articles submitted…you will feel encouraged refreshed afterward!

The Beauty of Marriage

It’s interesting how things change – how we can see things one way, very strongly, then something happens and you can see the exact same thing in a totally different way, very strongly.  Ever had that happen?  I have!

Before I got saved, at almost the age of 30, I had very strong opinions about relationships, roles and marriage.  I’ve mentioned before, but it bears repeating here, that I was raised to be very independent, a feminist and a man-hater; and I learned these things well.  These things are obviously NOT what the Bible says!  Now that I am saved, those opinions are COMPLETELY different.   It has only been thru the love of our Lord Jesus Christ, my amazing husband and family that I have learned the TRUE meaning of love, men and relationships.

The way the Lord has marriage written out is perfectly amazingIt is not easy – as a matter of fact, it is extremely difficult!  But that wasn’t His original plan; it wasn’t like this until after the fall of mankind.  And the sin within us is what makes it so difficult.  Additionally, the way the Lord has it designed forces us (should we choose to follow it) to become more like Him.  Therefore, when followed, it brings a strong bond between husband and wife (and the Lord).

When the Lord’s plan / design for marriage is followed – IT IS BEAUTIFUL When dh and I are both “doing our part” as instructed by the Lord, things flow fairly smoothly – even if things are not fairly smooth in life.  We are able to “take the punches” as they come and not get too bent out of shape.  We can talk about what’s going on, what we feel needs to be done and go on our way about things.  But, when we’re doing things our own way – watch out, there is trouble!

It’s funny to hear myself talk like this…to think back to the way I was compared to how I am now.  The transformation is amazing…and I’m sure the Lord is far from done with me yet.  But it’s true, although often I try to “fight against” being submissive (oh no! I said T.H.E. “S” W.O.R.D.!), the Lord tells me regularly that THAT is my role within our family.  (Eph 5:22)  However, I have also realized just how important “mom” is within a family.  WOW!  We have a lot on our plates!  Of course, so does dad!  He’s supposed to provide for the family as well as love us (their wife) as Jesus loved the church.  (Eph 5:25)  WOW!

This also makes me think that it isn’t even just husband and wife, every member of the family has an assigned place and the Lord did it that way to help us.  If we follow His plan, there will be order and respect.  If we don’t, well just look around you at the majority of society today and you’ll see exactly what happens…things get out of control.

I pray this has been beneficial for you, it has been for me – I have been reminded of how beautiful my marriage really is and how important each role is within the family.  And that the Lord Himself designed it that way for our benefit and on purpose.

This is also posted over at Chrysalis as part of “Marriage Monday” (a bi-monthly meme).  Hop on over there to check out what others have to say about Marriage!

Photobucket

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

8 thoughts on “The Beauty of Marriage

  1. Briana March 20, 2011 at 4:43 pm Reply

    I think there is freedom in following our God given roles. It makes life so much easier.

    Thanks for sharing your journey with us.

    Like

  2. Lorus March 21, 2011 at 9:07 am Reply

    God has such a wonderful plan for the family and our world is so determined to destroy it!

    Like

  3. Bobbi March 21, 2011 at 10:51 am Reply

    God’s grace is indeed a wonderful transforming power! Thank you for sharing His blessings in your life! Smiles and love to you today!

    Like

  4. Mac an Rothaich March 21, 2011 at 12:42 pm Reply

    Lovely post. It is so important to serve one another in a marriage. This is such a beautiful thing, worth all the hard effort.

    Like

  5. Tami Boesiger March 21, 2011 at 7:28 pm Reply

    Amen sister! Doing it God’s way works!

    Like

  6. e-Mom March 21, 2011 at 9:03 pm Reply

    I love this: “When dh and I are both ‘doing our part’ as instructed by the Lord, things flow fairly smoothly – even if things are not fairly smooth in life. We are able to ‘take the punches’ as they come and not get too bent out of shape.”

    So much wisdom here. When we do marriage His way–as outlined in Scripture–we have a far greater chance at success than whe we try to do “what comes naturally.” Marriage has the potential to be a beautiful thing when we are willing to grow and learn, and put away all the faulty teaching we grew up with. Sounds like you and your husband are humming along very smoothly. Bravo!

    Thanks for joining us for Marriage Monday today, Dawn.

    Hugs, e-Mom ღ

    Like

  7. Christine March 22, 2011 at 1:04 pm Reply

    Great post and a good reminder to us all. Thanks!

    Like

  8. jona March 22, 2011 at 10:47 pm Reply

    “i said the “S” word” i can relate to that. haha 😀 we dread that word and yet that’s where God is leading us to do. take care 😀
    my Marriage Monday

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

