Tribute to an Incredible Man

Photobucket

My husbands grandfather, Mr. Leslie Winters, passed away (aka was promoted to glory) Monday.  He is pictured above holding our son, Philip, along with my husband and his father – four generations in this picture.  He was an absolutely AMAZING man!  I don’t even know where to start!  I’ve known him my whole life, but my family moved to a different state when I was still young so I didn’t see or talk to him much until around the time I was saved, which was in 2000.  My father died in 2001 and gramps “unofficially adopted” me then.  This man had a heart of gold!

When you think of “the perfect man”…Gramps comes to mind.  When I think of the “Love portion” of scripture (1 Corinthians 13:4-8a: Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails), Gramps was that Scripture…every day, in life.

Gramps had polio and had one leg that was not normal – I was going to say “was an issue” but it wasn’t, that’s the point.  Gramps had many struggles to overcome in his lifetime, and he overcame each one a better man than before – apparently – because I never heard a negative word from him.  He was a TRUE BELIEVER in our Lord Jesus Christ and he lived that out daily.

He was a writer and a printer…as he progressed thru the different stages of his life – so did his writings…which were always an outreach to others.

He was a rock and a part of the foundation of our meeting…he taught the younger men their roles and he was an amazing role model to follow – for everyone.  His three sons are amazing men as well – which is also a testimony to him.

Personally, I cannot say enough good things about Gramps Les.  We will miss him terribly – but are so excited he is doing the jig with the Lord now…and his leg is no longer “an issue” for him.

We look forward to seeing you again someday Gramps Les!

2 thoughts on “Tribute to an Incredible Man

  1. Mama Zen March 10, 2011 at 2:02 pm Reply

    This is a lovely tribute. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Like

  2. […] who recently passed away. He was an absolutely incredible man! You can read about him in my “Tribute to an Incredible Man” […]

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

