How the Lord Changes Things

Photobucket

The boys and I were at the store the other day getting several items, one of which was some candy for dh to give someone at work as a partial “repayment” for some of what he has eaten over the last six months.  As we were looking for what he wanted, I was telling the boys, “…because daddy is such a slacker”…which if you knew our family – we joke like that.  However, I looked up to find a man looking at the candy near by too.  My heart sank!

Why did my heart sink?  Two reasons.  The first is that I would NEVER want that comment to be taken as the real thing as my dh is anything but a slacker!  And the second is because the Lord has opened my eyes to how men in general need to be lifted up in our society, instead of put down (as is often the case these days).

For some time afterward, I was thinking and praising the Lord for the changes He has made in my hear and my life!  When it comes to having a “happy home” He has taught me SO MUCH about what MY part is within the dynamics of our home.  I have a looonnnng way to go yet but I do appreciate where He has brought me so far.

Here are some of the verses that come to mind…

The wise woman builds her house,  but the foolish pulls it down with her hands.”  Proverbs 14:1

“Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, but a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised. Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her own works praise her in the gates.” Proverbs 31:30-31

“Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and they shall become one flesh.” Genesis 2:24

“Nevertheless let each one of you in particular so love his own wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband.”  Ephesians 5:33

“There is a difference between a wife and a virgin. The unmarried woman cares about the things of the Lord, that she may be holy both in body and in spirit. But she who is married cares about the things of the world—how she may please her husband.” 1 Corinthians 7:34

The Lord has really impressed it upon my heart that we are to follow His word (no matter how hard it may be).  It is my job as the wife / mother to follow my husband – he is the leader of our family.  It is my job as the wife / mother to show respect to my husband.  It is my job as the wife / mother to speak positively of my husband…and men in general, since I have two boys we are raising for the Lord.

Here is to all of you other women out there who are struggling and succeeding in growing in Christ to lift up our husbands and our sons.

This can also be found in The Christian Home- Issue 5 – an online Christian magazine.  Stop by and read all the articles submitted…you will feel encouraged refreshed afterward!

Also linked to:

A-Wise-Woman-Builds-Her-Home

 

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

9 thoughts on “How the Lord Changes Things

  1. […] Read more: Guiding Light Homeschool | How the Lord Changes Things […]

    Like

  2. Christi March 5, 2011 at 10:54 pm Reply

    Great post! I am very careful about how I speak about my husband. I can be a negative nelly sometimes and honestly he doesn’t deserve it. We have 3 sons, all of whom I can only pray that they grow to be as caring and hardworking as their dad. Thanks for laying it on my heart to be more mindful of my tongue.

    Like

  3. Jen March 6, 2011 at 7:47 am Reply

    Thanks so much for reminding us how to act! I try very hard to be the wife/mother that God wants me to be. I fail at times but your article has reminded me of the importance of picking up where I left off and to keep on trying!

    Like

  4. Jessica March 6, 2011 at 9:52 pm Reply

    Thanks for a great post. Sometimes we need a gentle reminder about how to properly treat the spouses God has blessed us with! Have a great day!
    Blessings,
    Jess

    Like

  5. Angie March 7, 2011 at 10:02 am Reply

    Such a beautiful post. I too was just thinking this morning, of how far the Lord has led me, taught me, directed my thoughts. I have a young friend who is struggling right now. And I smiled. I tried to remember the year that the Lord said No More to my abundant selfish sin. 1995. SIX years after I graduated from a private christian school and a Beaver Cleaver family. Thank you for another example of how the Lord will bring us to where He wants us to be in our lives. And how sweet that your eyes saw that your comments were funny in the family, but maybe not taken as well in the marketplace. 😉

    Like

  6. Briana March 7, 2011 at 3:36 pm Reply

    This is so true. This is an area where I slip into bad habits and have to continually work on keeping my big mouth shut!

    Like

  7. Elle March 7, 2011 at 8:48 pm Reply

    Really nice article. Reminded me that I need to work on this myself. Thank you.

    Like

  8. Tabitha March 10, 2011 at 3:10 pm Reply

    Very encouraging, thanks for sharing! Blessings to you!

    Like

  9. Cassidy March 10, 2011 at 4:09 pm Reply

    Very encouraging post! I joke like that too and have recently heard my girls joke in the same manner and realized I have to stop doing this because even tho I’m joking and they know it, they are picking up my bad habbit of joking that way. This post really encouraged me! Thank you!
    Cass

    http://www.lullabiesandlipstick.blogspot.com

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

