TOS Crew Review – PG Key

One PG Key costs $49.00 and here is what you get:

  1. Access Control
  2. Time Allowance
  3. Content Filtering
  4. Site Blocking
  5. Activity Tracking
  6. Activity Notifications
  7. Chat and E-mail Logging
  8. Computer Configuration
  9. User Name and Password Logging
  10. Inappropriate Activity Evidence

This is a ONE TIME FEE…there are no additional costs.

Fortunately we do not NEED something like this in our home but we can see the benefits of having something like this…we can definately see how it would give parents peace of mind.

Let me say it isn’t really “plug in and go” as you are led to believe.  It is quite a manual process setting up the websites to block or allow along with the “blacklist” (the words you want to be notified of if searched).  Additionally, we did have quite a bit of an issue getting it properly loaded and activated on our computer which was rather frustrating.  However…

Once the specific users are set up, those being “tracked” cannot get past the first screen unless the PG Key is inserted…they either have to insert the key or login as a different user (knowing the password, if that’s how it’s set up by the parent).  If they search under the “PG Key Safe Search” the items are “protected” or screened so they can still get a limited amount of information but nothing “R” rated.  Searching something like “nudity” (if this word is in your “blacklist”) will then send an email notification to you (assuming you have set it up to do so).  If the search engine is changed to google, for example, there is no protection for what will be visible…”R” rated does come up…notifications will still be sent.

Email notifications look like this:

“Living Room” is what we “named” our PG Key for our computer because we only have one and it is in the living room…but this would help you distinguish which computer the notification came from, if you have more than one.

 

The time allowance feature is VERY nice!  You pick how long they are allowed on the computer and once that time is up a message box says to either enter more time or switch users (which they need a password to do either).  This part I really liked!  I guess because it is so handy!

 

One other issue I found with this product is that it caused my computer to slow down SIGNIFICANTLY…therefore I took it off as soon as I was done with this review.

 

Overall rating for this product: 2

It is my impression that although the cost seems reasonable, the product has a lot of manual processes to get it to work properly.  Additionally, it seems to have different “issues” with different sytems and search engines.  Make sure to read the other TOS Crew reviews for more information, by clicking HERE.

For more information:
PG Key LLC
2585 N 1st Ave
Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone (800) 301-8698 or (520) 884-8698
Fax (520) 884-0219
There are several email options…check out the website for specific addresses.

This product was reviewed as a part of the TOS Homeschool Crew…I received this product for free in exchange for my honest review. Everything stated here is my own opinion. You can see the direct posting with the TOS Homeschool Crew and what my fellow crewmates thought by clicking HERE.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!
5 thoughts on “TOS Crew Review – PG Key

  1. Very informative review!!! Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. I appreciate your visit!! Love your new blog – very nice!

    Lisa

    Like

  2. Wendi October 27, 2010 at 9:54 am Reply

    Love your new website!

    Like

  3. Christy October 27, 2010 at 10:02 am Reply

    Hi Dawn, thanks for visiting my blog (http://orderoursteps.blogspot.com/) and for following! I followed yours and hope I did it right since your linked name took me to your old blog. I don’t see anywhere to follow on this new one. God bless you!!!

    Like

  4. Blossom October 27, 2010 at 2:24 pm Reply

    Very good review. I personally had no trouble with it until recently and although we do use Google search, it blocked what I told it to block. However, a few days ago I had an issue with it and disabled it so that dd could finish what she was doing…and can’t get it to work at all now! Still working with support to figure it out. I really like this thing. It has proven to be more of an accountability watcher for my kids. Without it at least one of my kids thinks it’s like no one is watching!

    And I have really been paying attention (saw many times that you got a new blog) but for some reason it just didn’t dawn on me… Was wondering why you were so quiet in my Google Reader!! I just tried to follow via GFC but it’s not working at the moment so I will try again in a bit.

    Like

    • Blossom October 27, 2010 at 2:25 pm Reply

      It works now! Am once again a follower of Guiding Light Homeschool!

      Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

